Protein purification and expression

Protein expression and purifcation services are available via the UQ Protein Expression Facility.  The Facility, which enables research across UQ with high quality recombinant proteins, wil purify proteins as a service or provide training.

The following chromatography systems are located within the School or in Centres within SCMB. 

Access to instruments varies and potential users should contact individuals identified below for advice and further information:

Downstream Processing - Cell Harvesting and Breakage

Cell Harvesting

Beckman Avanti J20i XPi Centrifuge
(room 105 Molecular Biosciences).
This refrigerated centrifuge has a rotor that takes 6 x 1 litre centrifuge pots, enabling rapid harvesting of cultures.  Training in the use of this centrifuge is essential and only registered users can access this instrument.  For information about training and use of the centrifuge 

Contact

Dr Lyle Carrington, Room 312 Chemistry Building
Email: l.carrington@uq.edu.au telephone: 3346 9070
Dr Ulrike Kappler
Email: u.kappler@uq.edu.au telephone: 3365 2978


French Pressure Cell for Lysis of Bacteria

The Aminco Model FA-073 French Pressure Cell is used to rupture cells as they transit from a high to low pressure environment. Two French Pressure cells with capacity 1-5ml and 5-30ml are available. They are compatible for use with non-pathogenic bacteria.

Training in the use of the French Press is essential and only registered users can access this instrument.  The operator must be very careful to use the instrument in a safe fashion.  For information about training and use of the French Press.

The press is located on Level 1 of  the Molecular Biosciences Building.  An alternative instrument for cell disruption work is co-located with the Press.

Contact

All users of the French Press must complete training in its use prior to being given access. Contact Dr Karrera Djoko (McEwan Lab), k.djoko@uq.edu.au, 33654603 (lab) or 33651892 (office), or Dr Nathan Chen (McEwan lab), n.chen1@uq.edu.au, 33654603 (lab) or 33651892 (office).

To gain access to the alternative instrument, contact Dr Ben Schulz, b.schulz@uq.edu.au or Dr Daniel Ericsson, d.ericsson@uq.edu.au.


Link

thermoscientific.com

Protein purification systems

AKTA fplc
(Molecular Biosciences room 119)
School instrument purchased in 1999
Contact  Dr Ulrike Kappler
Email: u.kappler@uq.edu.au telephone: 3365 2978

AKTA explorer
(Molecular Biosciences room 119)
Instrument purchased by Alastair McEwan & Michael Jennings
Contact  Dr Ulrike Kappler
Email: u.kappler@uq.edu.au telephone: 3365 2978

AKTA fplc
(Molecular Biosciences room 105)
School instrument purchased 2003
Contact Dr Lyle Carrington, Room 312 Chemistry Building
Email: l.carrington@uq.edu.au telephone: 33469070, soeed dial 7070

AKTA fplc
(Molecular Biosciences Room 409)
School instrument purchased 2013
Contact Dr Amanda Nouwens, Molecular Biosciences Building
Email: a.nouwens@uq.edu.au telephone: 3346 9490

AKTA fplc
(Molecular Biosciences, Room 558)
School instrument purchased 2006
Contact: Prof Paul Young Molecular Biosciences Building
Email: p.young@uq.edu.au telephone: 3365 4646