family photo
Professor Jones during his time as Head of the UQ Department of Chemistry, 1940-1965

This annual UQ public lecture is a memorial to the late Thomas Gilbert Henry Jones, who joined UQ as an assistant lecturer and demonstrator in 1915. Following service in WWI as a munitions and explosives producer, Jones returned to UQ as a lecturer in inorganic chemistry, being promoted to professor and head of department in 1940. During his 50 years of service to UQ he was a member of Senate (1944-68), Dean of the Faculty of Science (1942-49 and 1960-61) and President of the Professorial Board (1951-56). 

Jones initiated a program of research into the chemistry of natural (plant) products. He held officer positions in the Royal Society of Queensland and the Royal Australian Chemical Institute. He led a public meeting in City Hall in 1957 to protest against State Government legislation that threatened the University’s autonomy in making appointments. He was awarded a CBE in 1960 and received an honorary doctorate from UQ and from the University of Newcastle.

2018 Lecture: Monday 16 July

The 2018 speaker is Professor Stephen Matlin, Head of Strategic Development, International Organization for Chemical Sciences in Development and Adjunct Professor, Institute of Global Health Innovation, Imperial College, London who will present a a lecture titled "The Chemical Sciences and a Sustainable Future".

This event is being held on Monday 16 July 2018 from 4 - 6pm. Register now to reserve your seat. 

Speakers in recent years have been:

  • 2017 - Dr Nicholas Meanwell, Department of Discovery Chemistry and Molecular Technologies, Bristol-Myers Squibb - 'Inhibitors of HIV-1 Attachment: The Discovery of Temsavir and its Prodrug Fostemsavir'.
  • 2016 - Prof George Whitesides, Harvard University - ' Simple/Low-cost Bioanalysis for the Developing World and Point of Care'.
  • 2014 - Prof David Leigh, University of Manchester - 'Tooling Up for Nanoworld: The Magic of Molecular Machines'.
  • 2013 - Prof Peter Wipf (pictured, with descendents of TGH Jones), University of Pittsburgh - 'Better Mitochondia through Imine Addition Chemistry'.
  • 2012 - Prof Huw Davies, Emory University, USA - 'Where would we be without Chemical Synthesis? From Rhodium Metal to Potential Medication'.
  • 2011 - Prof Dame Julia Higgins DBE FRS FREng, Imperial College, London - 'Tangling with Long Molecules'.
  • 2010 - Prof Les Dutton, The Johnson Research Foundation, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of Pennsylvania - 'Design and engineering of oxidoreductases'.
  • 2009 - Prof Ken Raymond, University of California at Berkeley  - 'Supramolecular Metal-Ligand Clusters as Nanoenzymes'. 
  • 2008 - Prof Margaret Sheil, CEO of the Australian Research Council - 'A new ERA for he ARC and the National Innovation System'.
  • 2007 - Dr Richard Jefferson, CAMBIA BiOS Initiative, Canberra - 'Biological Open Source (BiOS) as a new paradigm for science enabled innovation.'
  • 2006 - Emeritus Prof Ian Lowe, President, Australian Conservation Foundation - 'Energy, the carbon cycle and sustainable futures'.
Jones at his desk in 1965 Descendants of Jones attend the memorial lecture in 2013


TGH Jones Memorial Lecture section

2014 TGH Jones Memorial Lecture

Prof David Leigh, University of Manchester - 'Tooling Up for Nanoworld: The Magic of Molecular Machines'.

2013 TGH Jones Memorial Lecture

Peter Wipf presented "Better Mitochondria through Imine Addition Chemistry" on 15 July.

2012 TGH Jones Memorial Lecture

Huw Davies (Emory University) is set to present at this important event. Students, graduates and staff are welcome.

2011 TGH Jones Memorial Lecture

Over 100 friends of the School of Chemistry & Molecular Biosciences attended the 2011 TGH Jones Memorial Lecture on 31 October 2011.

2010 TGH Jones Memorial Lecture

Professor Les Dutton delivered the 2010 TGH Jones Memorial Lecture on 3 December 2010. Approximately 90 staff, students and friends of the School of Chemist...

2008 TGH Jones Memorial Lecture

Descendants of TGH Jones attended the 2008 public lecture given by Professor Margaret Sheil.   Pictured ...
Go to top